Little Seed: Songs for Children by Woody Guthrie CD Kids Music Product Review

In Little Seed, Elizabeth Mitchell embraces the gentle genius of America’s musical bard, Woody Guthrie. The simple yet profound songs he wrote for his young children remind us of how the loving bonds between parent and child endure and are strengthened through music. Joined by family and friends, Elizabeth Mitchell offers us re-imagined renditions of classic Guthrie favorites. Her thoughtful versions pay tribute to Guthrie’s uncanny ability to inhabit both the perspective of a loving, protective parent and the voice of a freewheeling child. Features eight newly-recorded tracks and five previously-issued favorites. 13 tracks, 29 minutes, 20-page booklet with photos.

Song List:

  • Riding in My Car
  • Blin Blang
  • 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
  • Why, Oh Why
  • Sleep Eye
  • Who’s My Pretty Baby?
  • Rattle my Rattle
  • This Land is Your Land
  • Merry-Go-Round
  • One Day Old
  • Little Sugar
  • Grassy Grass Grass
  • Little Seed

Remember when it comes to CDs they are obviously easy to use…if you can convince the kids to listen to them. And with Little Seed we hare happy to report this is an easy task! One listen and your kids will be hooked and you’ll be happy to listen too!

No durability issues here – especially if you download.

The best part of Little Seed: Songs for Children by Woody Guthrie is the wide variety of songs, tunes and fun. There is a great mix of eclectic songs (although some can be found on other Elizabeth Mitchell albums) – that are perfect to listen to no matter what mood you and the kids are in. Fun for every day – and we love it!

We like our albums to be priced right around $10 – but a retail price of $12.98 isn’t too far off. If you are an Elizabeth Mitchell fan and already have a few of her albums, you will want to know that some of the songs you’ll find on your other albums.

How do you call the remakes of Wood Guthrie songs original? Easy – when the arrangements, tunes and beats are redone by Elizabeth Mitchell in such a way that no matter if you heard the originals you’ll think these songs are brand new. Elizabeth Mitchell’s renditions are fresh, vibrant and fun – and sound totally original!

If you’ve read our reviews in the past you know we are happiest when we find albums for children that Mom and Dad can enjoy too. Without question Little Seed: Songs for Children by Woody Guthrie falls into this category. You and the kids will enjoy popping in the CD and rocking out on a road trip or to run errands. If you’ve grown tired of your child’s music selection – this album is the perfect new addition!

Manufacturer: Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Recommended Age: 2 years to 9 years
Retail Price: $12.98
On the Web:
Buy It Here: